Blueberry Muffins!

A very happy new year to all of you! Wishing you a year full of smiles and satisfaction, in whatever you do! 🙂

Its been a busy couple of months for me….guests and crafting and baking….anything left?!?! 🙂 Managed to bake lots of christmas cakes but did not have time to even take pictures! All disappeared all too soon! That’s good news though! 🙂 Also did some cakes for friends and their families….will post those pictures and recipes too shortly! I don’t know about you but anything I bake and leave out to cool on the table….vanishes when I turn my back! 🙂

Today, I wanted to share this blueberry muffins with you as I have not used these fruits in my baking so far! Was very excited when my sister went to Bangalore and picked up three boxes for all of us to consume. Only I decided that baking muffins was the best way to use them up fast! 🙂

In all their glory!

In all their glory!

And it came out so well that I am so excited to use more fruits that I have not used before! If only we could source them more easily….sigh! Not a great fan of canned fruits so will bide my time to get my hands on fresh ones! 🙂

The recipe is from my trusted Reader’s Digest 1001 Cakes – so much to choose from! 🙂 I bet there are better recipes or versions of these muffins but this one sure came out wonderfully soft and light!

blueberry muffins

Difficulty level – easy

Makes 18 muffins (original recipe says 12)

You will need –

3 cups – flour

1 tbsp – baking powder

3/4 tsp – salt

1/2 tsp – cinnamon powder (nutmeg powder is optional as an addition to cinnamon powder – I chose not to add it)

Sift these together and keep aside.

3/4 cup – butter, room temp

1 1/2 cups – castor sugar

3 – eggs, room temp

1 1/2 tsp – vanilla

1 1/2 cups – milk (I used 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup hung curd)

1 1/2 cups – blueberries, fresh pref (I quartered them – however big or small in size – more in each muffin!)

Cream the butter well till light and pale. Add the sugar and beat well. Crack the eggs in and beat till well combined. Add the vanilla and milk (and curd if using) and beat. Might be a bit curdled at this stage. Don’t panic.

Add the flour and fold in gently. Add the fresh fruits and fold in gently. Batter will be a bit thick.

Line a 12-try muffin tin with whatever liners you want to use. Spoon the muffins almost to the top – does not rise THAT much. Bake at 350 F (180 C) for 25-30 mins. Even though I used a dark pan, it took me 30 mins.

Leave to cool on a rack and serve warm. If serving much later, zap it for 20 seconds and it changes the taste considerably!

blueberry muffins 1

Yum!

Yum!

Was totally delish and the taste of blueberry was just amazing! Juicy and yummy! 🙂

yumminess!

yumminess!

The batter is thick enough that the fruit pieces do not sink to the bottom so more to enjoy in every bite!

Have a great year ahead and hope to see you more often here! 🙂

Categories: Baking | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins!

  1. These look absolutely delicious! I love how the berries didn’t sink to the bottom and seem plentiful in each bite 🙂

  2. sumi

    Looks truly yummy..Waiting to try…Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

