Chocolate Hot Fudge Cake

Yello! Welcome back! πŸ™‚

I spent the better part of the week gone by searching for recipes that I can try out and must say that my printer and I became the best of friends! πŸ™‚ And must thank my hubby for a snazzy new printer he got that has made my life super easy! And any environment-friendly-save-the-earth-kinda-person…please close this window right now! Coz I used the better part of a stack of papers to print the recipes I liked….ahem….a LOT! πŸ˜€

Ok ok….getting down to the baking I did….found this amazing recipe at jamiecooksitup.net – and oh my! Are there some cool baking recipes! And the one that caught my eye was called Chocolate Hot Fudge Cake. Now kindly wipe that drool at the end of your mouth that started when you read the post title! πŸ˜› (no need to tell you I did the same! LOL!!!)

Now anything chocolate is a winner for me and everyone at home. And hot fudge just about drove the cake into the oven! πŸ™‚

Ok with that big picture on the screen to make you more jealous, let’s get on with the recipe πŸ™‚

You will need –

1 cup – flour
1 cup – sugar
6 tbsp – unsweetened Cocoa powder
2 1/2 tsp – baking powder
1/4 tsp – salt
3 tbsp – butter, meltedΒ 
1/2 cup – evaporated milk
2 tbsp – oil
1 tsp – vanilla
1 cup – packed brown sugar
1 1/3 cup – hot water
Β 
Ice cream, to serve it with
Β Β 
Sift the flour, salt, baking powder and 2tbsp of cocoa powder into a bowl. (I find it easier to do it this way)

Add the melted butter, evaporated milk (see note at the end), oil and vanilla to the flour mix and gently mix everything together. It will come together rather easily with the butter and oil.

Spread the batter into a 9×9 inch pan which has been greased (but not floured). Spread it to all corners and evenly.

In another bowl, mix the remaining 4 tbsp cocoa powder and a cup of brown sugar and mix well. Lumps of sugar is ok but you are welcome to take out as many lumps as you want to, if you are OCD about it πŸ™‚ Sprinkle this over the batter evenly. Just sprinkle. No need to push it in to any corners or whatever! πŸ™‚

Now pour the hot water over this slowly and take in the deep chocolate smell that fills your senses! πŸ™‚ Do not mix anything but just pour the water over the batter and cocoa sprinkle.

Gently lift the pan (be careful as it gets a bit tricky when you lift it to shove it in the oven) and bake at 350 F (180 C) for about 40 minutes (I used an aluminium pan so I went 40 but feel free to reduce it if using a darker pan)

Evaporated milk – I read the comments section of the blog I took the recipe from and a comment suggested you could make your own evaporated milk using 1 cup hot water, 1/2 cup instant milk powder, 1 tsp oil (optional) and 1 tsp honey (optional) and to mix together well till incorporated together. I omitted the oil but used the honey and this gave me exactly 1 cup of “evaporated milk” for my batter.

Best part is that you do not have to wait for it to cool down! Dig in when hot or warm…yumm! πŸ™‚ The brown sugar melted gives a nice crunch on the top with a kinda crispy top and a oh-so-gooey-fudgey-chocolatey-center! (sorry about the pic…had to take it before it got attacked and got over! And glad to report that it did get over….!)

Serve with some vanilla ice cream or any other flavour you like and enjoy! πŸ™‚ This was caught from my son’s bowl who declared it *good* πŸ™‚ My other two sons did not quite like it as the cake is not very sweet and the ice cream gives it the extra sugar lift. I would say it will make a nice dessert for a lunch/dinner party and will feed a good number (I doubled the quantities for this one that I baked so take my word for it!) πŸ™‚

Have a go at it and enjoy some chocolate time for yourself! πŸ™‚ Have a good one!

Categories: Baking | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Hot Fudge Cake

  1. looks yummmmm Shobana! you are right. I am drooling πŸ™‚

  2. bindushiva

    yum yum yum, this cake (pudding cake??) is sooo good! thx for thr recipe, shobs! would like to reduce the sweetness tho’. how do i do this? the clueless baker ( for lack of another word)

  3. I want this…… drool drool!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

