Eggless Sugarfree Chocolate Banana Cake

Hello! Its the weekend and a busy one at home! My second son turns 10 tomorrow and he starting the celebration today with a friend coming for a sleepover! 🙂 And he does not want me to bake the cake 😦 Oh well! There will be a day…..maybe he does not want to share my yummy cakes eh? Wishful thinking! 🙂

Anyway. My aunt wanted an eggless sugarfree cake and I challenged myself to baking it. There is an amazing forum on Facebook called the Home Bakers Guild and it is a tresure trove of information and a 24/7 helpline 🙂 Amazing bakers and wonderfully talented people to showcase their bakes! Check it out and see for yourself!

There was a thread about eggless cakes and one of the links was for egglesscooking.com – a site by Madhuram who has an amazing range of eggless bakes and cooking! Wow! 🙂 I chose to try her eggless chocolate banana cake. I did make a few adjustments and made it my way 🙂

Totally yum and even the kids like it! Though I had to make up a story about how it did NOT have bananas (even though my little one helped me with the batter!)

You will need –

2 cups – flour (in the original recipe she used whole wheat flour)
1 1/2 cups – sugarfree sugar (or castor sugar if making it regular cake)
2/3 cup – cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp – baking soda
1/4 cup – melted butter (can also use oil)
1 1/2 cups – hot water
1 tsp – vanilla
1 cup – mashed Bananas

I sifted the flour with the baking soda and kept aside. I did not sift the cocoa powder with the flour but added the hot water to it and let the chocolate flavor intensify. That is why the picture shows the cake a deep chocolate color.

I put the sugar, melted butter, vanilla, mashed bananas and chocolate mix together and mixed well. And then added the flour and folded in gently.

I also used a bundt pan (like in the original recipe) and baked at 350 F (180 C) for about 45 minutes. The crust had nice cracks and looked well done. I am not particular about cracks in my cakes and so did not worry 🙂

Turned out quite soft and moist! Was well received by my diabetic dad and sister too! 🙂 As Madhuram says, the banana is not overpowering and adds a nice flavor to the cake.

Give this a shot and lemme know how it turned out! Enjoy the weekend and have some cake and eat it too! 🙂

Categories: Baking | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Eggless Sugarfree Chocolate Banana Cake

  1. I enjoyed reading this post! Your bakes looks seriously good! =D

  2. yummy!! I am inspired to try this!! do have the same cake with egg recipe,Shobs?!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

