Coffee Caramel Cake

Hello!

I did mention in my last post that I was all ready to bake and I did! Baked a yummy coffee caramel cake. And even though it did not turn out to be anything like the picture in the book showed, it still tasted real good! 🙂 The recipe is from Everyday Baking by ….well…just that. Is a collection of recipes so there is no name mentioned. Bought it in some mall in the UK a couple of years ago (it was on clearance) and have tried a few cupcakes from the book. I kinda don’t like measuring on a scale when measurements are in grams and this book is like that. So I do not reach for it automatically! 🙂

Yes. It is time I got on with the recipe and let you sink into that gooey goodness! 🙂

You will need –

2/3 cup (6 oz) – butter, soft

2/3 cup (6 oz) – castor sugar (the original recipe called for golden castor sugar. Since I do not have access to it, I used white sugar)

3 – eggs, beaten

1 cup (8 oz) – self raising flour (I used normal flour and added 1 tsp baking powder)

1/3 cup (3 fl. oz) – strong black coffee (I used instant coffee)

Beat the butter and sugar till soft and fluffy.

Gradually beat in the eggs, and then fold in the flour and coffee.

Pour into two tins (8-inch tins the recipe says) or one pan as I did, and bake at 350 F (180 C) for 30 minutes. I used a dark pan so made it 5 minutes less.

Super easy and simple! 🙂

Icing –

milk, butter, caramel, icing sugar

Now since I did not want to dollop the icing, I took a smaller portion of milk and butter and set it on medium heat till the butter melted. I then added the caramel (I had some left over from another recipe. Will post that next time!) till it dissvolved on low heat and then the icing sugar.

Now, I ran out of icing sugar and the consistency was still thin. So I added some castor sugar and it was STILL thin! 🙂 Got fed up and tasted the cake by itself. Did not have much of a sugary taste and so poured some of the “icing” over it. And let it soak it up overnight.

See that sugary crust on top? That’s the “icing”! 🙂 Tastes great and you  do not miss the thick icing at all! And does not taste of coffee either! But feel free to follow the recipe the right way and do let me know how it turned out! 🙂

Have a relaxed weekend and make a coffee cake to enjoy! 🙂

Categories: Baking | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Coffee Caramel Cake

  1. Interesting recipe, thanks for sharing! =)

  2. Priya Venkat

    And its wow!!! Loved the gooey-ness of the icing. Left me licking my fingers. And I did not share with my daughter. She will never know (insert evil laughter….hahahahahahaha)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

