Whole Wheat Bread

Yello! πŸ™‚

Me is back from summer break and of course the best way to get back in the swing of things is to bake! πŸ˜› My dad is a diabetic but loves bread. So I keep trying different recipes and test it on him. Bought this amazing book that seems to be the talk of the town – Artisan Bread in Five Minutes – wow! Super recipes and this one is actually from that (page 76 to be very precise). My dad loved it and wants a loaf for himself before he leaves on Monday! Β Happy happy πŸ˜€

You will need – I halved the quantities since I was making it the first time

1 1/2 cups – lukewarm water

1 1/2 cups – lukewarm milk

1/2 cup – honey

5 tbsp – neutrally flavored oil plus extra for greasing (I used groundnut oil. Would appreciate letting me know if you use any other)

1 1/2 tbsp – granulated yeast

I used instant yeast but still let it soak in warm water before I used it.

Mix all of the wet ingredients together in a bowl and keep aside.

6 2/3 cups – whole wheat flour

1 tbsp plus 1 tsp – salt (the recipe calls for kosher salt but I did not have it and so used normal salt and I forgot to halve it! Ha ha!)

Mix the salt into the flour well so that it evenly distributes. Make a well in the center and add the wet ingredients.

Mix with a spoon or the paddle attachment if using a machine. Need not knead now. The dough will be a bit sticky and so handle carefully. Roll into a ball and put into greased bowl and leave to rise for about 2-3 hours. Cover with a wet cloth but not airtight.

Now for some changes. The recipe calls for refrigerating the dough so that it is easier to use. But I used it straightaway πŸ™‚ But of course!

Punch down the dough and knead well to loosen the gluten. Place in greased loaf tin and cover as before and let rise again for 1 hour and 40 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 F (180 C) and place the loaf tin. Bake for 50-60 minutes or till brown and well done.

The original recipe calls for baking stone, broiler plate blah blah which I am not familiar with and so dispensed with them πŸ™‚

Came out just great and was in too much of a hurry and so cut it when hot. Please wait till the bread has cooled down to atleast warm before you cut it πŸ™‚ And so the jagged edges.

See that bit of melting butter? What is life without some yummy butter, even if on healthy bread?!?! πŸ˜›

Thanks for stopping by! Have a nice weekend!

 

Categories: Baking | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Whole Wheat Bread

  1. Priya

    Thanks for the recipe! Now I don’t have to find out on my own! I still haven’t tried baking,,,…..guess I was destined to wait till u got back!!:)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

