Yummy Rolls!

Hello Hello! 🙂 Happy Easter too all of you who celebrate it and Happy Sunday to the others! 😀

Crafting seems to be hard to do these days what with the hot weather and my increasing frustration about the lack of crafting space and the mounds of dust to deal with. Ugh! Trying to cut a deal with my hubs for my own crafting space and we are now working on it! Hopefully, it all works out and I can spread out and work to my heart’s content! 🙂 Fingers crossed!

But baking seems to be no problem at all! Thankfully the daily power cut has now moved to the morning and so the whole day is free for me to plan my baking. Whew! 🙂 And the kids are more than happy to gorge on what I make so…I am not complaining! 🙂

I tried these rolls and it came out fantastic! It was all over by the evening and the kids loved it! Recipe is from the Taste of Home – Fall Baking magazine (from last fall!) and boy, it turned out great! 🙂 Very simple and easy to make!

rolls

Used a springform pan for this one and it was not a problem. So feel free to choose the pan you feel comfortable with and according to the dough you make. I plan to double the quantities today so will have to use a bigger pan! 🙂

rolls A 01

Looks great eh? 🙂 Very tempting too!

You will need –

2 to 2 1/2 cups – flour

2 tbsp – sugar

1/2 tsp – salt

1 1/2 tsp – instant yeast (I prefer to soak it in water first and then use. I feel it helps with even rising of the dough)

3/4 cup – warm water

2 tbsp – melted butter

Plus 4 tsp – melted butter mixed with 2 tsp honey to brush over the rolls after baking

3/4 cup – shredded cheddar cheese

1/8 tsp – garlic salt (which I omitted)

Add a sprinkling of sugar and warm water for the yeast to rise.

In a bowl, mix the flour, sugar, salt. Add the risen yeast to it and mix.

Add the cheese and warm water to it and combine well. I used my hands to mix the dough but you are welcome to use an electronic mixer. Turn onto a lightly floured counter top and knead till soft and smooth. Leave to rise for 10 minutes in a greased bowl. Cover and leave in a warm area.

After 10 minutes, deflate the dough and make small ball sized pieces and arrange on a greased pan of choice. Leave to rise again for about 30 minutes.

Bake at 375 F (180 C) for 11-15 minutes (I baked for 15 minutes but the bottom was still a bit sticky so I would suggest you try this first to test how the oven works and then figure it out for yourself).

Take out of the oven and let cool for about 5 minutes. Brush with butter and honey over the top.

rolls B 01

And then dive right in! Easy to pinch off one portion and indulge! 🙂 Will be great with soups and pasta. Or just as is, like my children had!

rolls C

Enjoy and give this a try! Easy to make and yummy to boot! 🙂

Happy Weekend everyone!

Categories: Baking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Yummy Rolls!

  1. Looks yummy! Hey…what happened to the cinnamon rolls?

  2. Yum yum……I bet these taste as good as they look :0)
    Jenny x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

