Simple Chocolate Cake

Hey y’all! Hope your days have been good these past coupla weeks! 🙂

Yes…I had vanished again…for a while! 🙂 Been restocking on my crafty supplies and been busy with classes at home. Yes….baking classes and craft class with dear Priya Venkat! It has been so much fun with the young girls from ages 14 to 9! Today, we had 10 girls aged 9 come in for one hour of baking and one hour of craft. We made vanilla choco chip muffins and before I could take my phone out to take a pic, the entire cooling rack of muffins disappeared! 🙂 It was super fun and we look forward to more such classes together! Thanks Priya Venkat for all your support in this! 🙂

So continuing with the baking, I made a simple chocolate cake. The recipe is from a set of books – Coffee and Chocolate. Simply divine set and I just love looking at the pictures in them! 🙂 Have seen some great recipes and I hope to share some with you in the coming days 🙂

Yep! Made it this evening and topped the cake with just plain melted chocolate! Could you please wipe that drool going down the side of your mouth?!?!?! 😛

You will need –

4 oz (115 gms) – plain chocolate, chopped (you can use any you like – milk, dark, semi-sweet. I had extra as I wanted to use over the cake. You can be precise if that suits you)

3 tbsp – milk

Melt the chocolate and milk over a double boiler and gently mix together. Once melted, keep aside to cool.

1 3/4 cup – flour

1 1/2 tsp – baking powder

1 tbsp – cocoa powder

Sift these together and keep aside.

2/3 cup – soft butter

1 cup – brown sugar (light or dark or even castor sugar if that is what is handy)

3 – eggs

Beat the butter till light and fluffy. Add the sugar and beat well. Add the eggs (or one at a time) and beat well till combined.

Add the cooled melted chocolate and beat well till combined.

Add the flour mix and fold in gently.

Pour into greased pan and bake at 375 F (190 C) for 35 minutes or till center comes out clean when checked.

I just added melted chocolate on the top and kept things simple.

Give this a shot and lemme know how it turned out! Enjoy! 🙂

Categories: Baking | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Simple Chocolate Cake

  1. You know what……..I really was salivating looking at that picture. Oh! all that melted chocolate………if you ever need help in finishing of a batch of your baked goodies, you know my number.
    The classes sure were a lot of fun. I keep telling myself that I should do a blog post about them…….soon……I hope.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

