Holiday Favors

Hello again! Nice to see you here! 🙂

This post is very special as it is the first time I am in the guest design team for any challenge! Yay! As one of three winners at the Crafty JC challenge #10 (simplicity), I get to do a special post as the GDT 🙂

The theme for the challenge #12 is Holiday Favors – a concept that is quite new to me frankly 🙂 Birthday favors yes….holiday favors?? Hmm…but then it is not a challenge if you do not think out of the zone, eh? I thought very objectively and decided that it has to be something that can be made easily and could be mass produced, if need be. Something that would not need many special tools and that even kids can make….to enjoy the holiday celebrations 🙂

And I came up with fridge magnets! What say you?

This is what I made….a snowflake and a tree magnet. I used die-cuts to save time for my guest post but you can use any shape that you prefer. The tree can be a simple triangle (layered or simple) and the snowflake can be a simple scalloped circle….or flower….possibilities are endless 🙂

I die cut my two snowflake dies in white and spritzed them with red glimmer mist. Once they dried, I used my glue pen to add glitter to the edges and a small sticker for the center.

I used the Christmas tree die for this one, and first distressed it with green shades. Added the Holiday Lights stamp set and lovely Pie Lane bling for the lights. I went over the lines with my glue pen and added glitter in this too.

I used a magnetic roll for the back, where I could cut the pieces to the size I wanted.

The main thing here is to remember that you can use cereal boxes and layer them to the desired thickness, for any shape that you decide to use. Remember to glue each layer separately so that it adds to the strength of the magnet. You can also add pattern paper to have a neater finish….depending on what look you are aiming for.

I am a magnet collector so this appealed to me naturally 🙂 You can have a sneak onto our fridges…

I have found collecting magnets quite a fascination. It tells a lot about the place and it is easy to carry and bring back for family and friends, as gifts and souveniers. Just hope we don’t run out of fridge space to stick it all! 🙂

Linking to Make My Monday – Week 27 – Seasonal Glitter, Wee Memories #78 – Free for All

Thanks for stopping by and appreciate reading this in full 🙂

Categories: Craft | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Holiday Favors

  1. Lovely Shobhana. U manage to come up with unique ideas everytime. Loved the snowflakes and the way you explain each n everything in detail….

  2. Hey I love to collect magnets too !! even more love to make my own with salt dough and double sided tape …your instructions are very useful… can u pls tell me more about the magnetic tape?? is it similar to the double sided tape???

  3. I love the tree and I really liked the stamp when you had last used too. You have spruced up the tree so well.

  4. I just love fridge magnets tooo… yours are super… gonna make these for sure with all the lovely diecuts u sent…. thanks so much

  5. Hi.. I came to know ur blog through JC Challenge..These look awesome 🙂

  6. hussena.

    Shobana what a fab idea to create magnets to give as gifts.. i love both your tree and snowflake so so pretty….and your fridge looks like a wonderland for magnet lovers…what a collection:)

  7. And she is back…………with a bang!!! Totally awesome idea…to make fridge magnets. Our family collects them too, as souvenirs from trips and you are right…each one has a story behind it that’s nice to recollect. I love the tree and the distressing on it…..makes the glitter light string and the bling pop.

  8. Nice work, Shobana! Thanks for your kind comment on my blog. Philippa

  9. This is so cute,love the snowflakes on esp:).

  10. Lovely idea and wonderful inspiration!

  11. awesome idea and lovely finish…amazing work..keep it going Shobana 🙂

  12. Jacqueline

    Thank you for joining us at Make my Monday this week – your creations are lovely – Jacqueline xx

  13. Oh, how darling! These would make fabulous holiday gifts!!! 🙂 Thanks for joining us this week at MMM! 🙂

  14. Congrats on your Guest Designer Gig, what fantastic news! And what a fab idea, I’ve never thought to make magnets from die cuts… you are so very clever!

  15. Congratulations on your GDT slot Shobana! You’ve done them proud with this brilliant array of fridge magnets – fantastic work!

  16. Really lovely creations. Thanks for joining in over at Make My Monday and hope to see you again.
    Fliss x

  17. oh wow!! very beautiful creations! many kind of shaped magnet, i love the tree and the pink snowflake! Thank you so much for sharing this with us at Wee Memories

  18. I love it…Love the ideas to create magnets…I have a load of die cut pieces waiting for this!!! Just wish I could find a decent magnet roll…the one I have is a klutz..just falls off the fridge…can’t even hold my nesties together!! 😦

  19. Your collection is awesome– I love fridge magnets too but ours are all in my daughters toy box now! The xmas tree is so gorgeous !

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

