Anniversary Cake

Howdy! πŸ™‚

Been a while since I posted any of my baking exploits so here goes! I did bake during the vacation but there were too many hands attacking whatever I baked and I could not keep up with the volumes — SIX boys aged from 16 to 5 — to contend with! LOL!! So I gave up taking pictures or posting anything!

Yesterday was my parents’ 46th wedding anniversary and I baked a very simple chocolate cake that can be whipped up in a jiffy! πŸ™‚

(Sorry about the bad presentation! Could not find a serving plate big enough for my cake so had to improvise! πŸ™‚ Lesson learnt though!)

You will need

2 1/4 cups – flour

2 tsp – baking powder

1/4 tsp – salt

Sift together and keep aside.

1 1/2 cups – castor sugar

1 1/4 cup – butter, softened

3 – eggs

1 tsp – vanilla essence

Beat together or beat one at a time – first butter, then add sugar, then add eggs (can do one egg at a time also) and then the vanilla.

2/3 cup – cocoa powder

1/2 cup – boiling water

Slowly add the water to the cocoa and get it to a paste like consistency. Let cool.

1 cup – milk

To the butter mix, add the cocoa paste and beat well. Then add the dry ingredients and alternate with 1 cup milk.

Now, the actual recipe says to mix the whole lot together and all in one shot. I have given you a step by step version which I follow πŸ™‚ You are welcome to choose what suits you best!

Options – can add walnuts/pecans/chocolate chips

Bake at 350 F (180 C) for 45-50 minutes or till centre of the cake is cooked. Cool on rack and can add icing of your choice. I used melted milk and white chocolate for this one πŸ™‚

TIP: If you are big on presentation, make sure you have the right serving plates to fit your cake.

My little boy giving a piece of cake to my mom!

Recipe from Reader’s Digest 1001 Cake Recipes πŸ™‚

Categories: Baking | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Anniversary Cake

  1. Priya Venkat

    Happy Anniversary to your parents. So…the brood’s back and all set for Mon, I s’pose. Wishing a great year for the boys and their Momma’s.

  2. Yummy cake, I may try that recipe, thanks for sharing.

  3. romina

    wow !! looks yum !!congrats to uncle n aunty !!any veg. yummy recipes pls !!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

