Acetate

Some people I have met over time in the last few months, have casually made the comment – what is the big deal about making cards? You know what? I would LOVE for you to leave comments on what you think about it! Really. Coz I think we need to educate some people on just how much goes into the whole crafting thingie! 🙂

Anyway, this week’s challenge at Less is More is to use acetate. Now, being new to all this, I had to research a bit about acetate, that is, ask my good friend Priya Venkat 🙂 Then came the discussion about embossing and inks and what not! Anyway, I used acetate and made this super simple card just to make sure I got the technique right and looks halfway decent! 😀

Is a lovely mustard but looks a dull color in the pic. Did not make it a flap type card as I could not figure out how to adhere the acetate without the glue showing up 🙂 And since I already picked the cardstock color, did not have any matching pp or ribbon or such else! Silly me! 🙂 So….finally got this thin ribbon to match and made do with it! Not very happy but for the first time, did not want to start with something very big or fancy. Sentiment from Hero Arts and please forgive the gross stand for the card. Is actually a hairband which I found very useful to prop up the card! 😀

Oh. The lovely image is from Stampin’ Up which I simply love! You will see more of it for sure! Tips on improvement is always welcome! 🙂 Some of the entries this week are just Fab! 🙂

Categories: Craft | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Acetate

  1. Thanks so much for entering our acetate challenge… and for many that’s exactly what it is…very challenging!
    You have done brilliantly with this card, stamping on acetate to avoid smudges or slippage is most tricky and I love the image to chose to stamp too.
    Great job!
    See you next time!
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  2. This is lovely Shobana! I love the stamp you’ve used.

    And for all the sceptics out there…have you been lucky enough to have received a card made especially for you, with only you in mind when it is being made? Well if you have, you’ll know how much you loved receiving it. Well the cardmaker loves seeing the recipient open the card and seeing the reaction! So that and the fact it is a creative outlet for those of us who can’t draw, a relaxing ‘timeout’, and a worthwhile hobby, do we need to justify our desire to craft??! 😉 LOL my rant is over!
    Lizy x

  3. A lovely card, you’ve stamped the image perfectly. x

  4. Hi Shobana
    I have this stamp its fabulous! So effective
    You asked if we could do tutorials on how to sue acetate. Well if you see Chrissie and I gave instruction on how we did ours and there are loads of other tuts that our lovely LIMettes have written. it would be impossible for us to list how to do everything, but, we do our best to explain what we can
    Great to see you
    mandi
    Less is More

  5. Lynne

    Your card is beautiful Shobana. Well done for stamping so well on acetate, not an easy thing to do IMO. As for people not getting the buzz from handmade cards…well the ones that do apreciate them more than make up for it. I always say that anyone can walk into a shop and buy a card but how many have the perfect design, colour or even name of the recipient. Handmade ones do. Apart from that it keeps us out of mischief lol.
    Lynne xxx

  6. This is lovely! You’ve got super clean and sharp stamped image – which is one of my favourites – and your card is fab! Well done!

    Sadly I’m not able to take part in this challenge as I’m on holiday (Mumbai – really nice) and don’t have my supplies. But I’m going to have a go when I get home.

  7. Priya Venkat

    Hiya there! Beautiful card S! The image is so crisp and clean and clear. That’s one lovely stamp set from SU. Well, I make cards just for the love of creating. To make something in real life which was just an idea in my head is very creatively fulfilling. There’s my justification! Do we really need any other reason?

  8. Aileen

    I love this stamp too and keep going back to it. It shows up beautifully on your acetate. Well done. x

  9. Lovely dynamic card and such a oerfect image.

    Marie

  10. Sarah

    Your card is just lovely, I especially like the image, its so elegant! Thank you so much for your comment on my blog, it is appreciated. Sarah

  11. Well done!! I love SU!’s Bless set, it just has so many possibilities.
    Your card is lovely and wow do you ever have a smooth touch, no smudges at all. Stamping on acetate is so hard (foe me anyway); thats why I gave up on it years ago. You really did this challenge justice.

    TFS
    Carole

  12. Lovely card. TFS!
    I have found in my experience that card making is only appreciated by those who realise how much time and effort goes into making them and the joy the card maker feels while creating usually comes out in the card produced. After all its the thought that counts, right?! If only more people would think this way!
    Anyway, hope you continue on creating and learning for a LONG time to come cause it’s fun!

  13. Susan

    Shobana, your card is so pretty! As for why make cards? Just ask your friends….would you rather receive a store bought card or a card that was handcrafted just for you and made with love? Most people enjoy the special feeling they get when they receive a card that someone took the time to make for them.

  14. Michelle

    Beautiful card I love your stamping.

    Hugs
    Michelle

  15. This is lovely, the image works gr8

    Happy Easter

    Kathyk

  16. This is beautiful..love the image you used…
    i have had a lot of silly queries as I quit my profession to make scrapbooks and cards…what’s in that, they ask…where’s the money…
    something you do just to fulfill the creative need…let them talk..we know what we love and we love it with all out heart!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

